This news release is from the previous Governor's administration.
For Immediate Release: April 21, 2015
Contacts: Office of the Governor: Brian Coy, 804-225-4260, | Secretary of Public Safety and Homeland Security: Greg Davy, 804-971-3973,

Governor McAuliffe Directs Secure Commonwealth Sub-Panel To Study Law Enforcement Technologies

~The 31 members will examine public safety and privacy issues~


Governor McAuliffe today announced the creation of a special sub-panel of the Secure Commonwealth Panel that will focus on the use of emerging technologies by law enforcement agencies. 

The 31 members of the group will explore constitutional, personal privacy, economic and public safety issues related to the use of new and increasingly sophisticated technologies, weighing their benefits as well as their challenges. 

“The Secure Commonwealth Panel is the ideal group to lead this initiative,” Governor McAuliffe said.  “This bipartisan group includes a broad-based group of experts from my Administration, the legislature, law enforcement and the private sector. The citizens of our Commonwealth, and those who protect them, are best served with a deliberate and thoughtful approach to these complex public policy issues.” 

The sub-panel will work with community, technology and public safety stakeholders to identify, evaluate and make recommendations for implementing evidence-based programs throughout Virginia. 

During the first two meetings, the sub-panel will explore the use of body-worn cameras by law enforcement officers.  Members of the sub-panel will address topics such as data storage and retention, equipment, and rules for handling evidence. 

“The sub-panel members represent a wealth of diverse backgrounds, knowledge, and points of view that will help us achieve an appropriate balance,” said Secretary of Public Safety and Homeland Security Brian Moran.  “As we explore the use of these technologies, we must recognize personal privacy as well as public safety interests.” 

Members of the Sub-Panel are as follows:


Brian Moran, Secretary of Public Safety and Homeland Security, Chair
Karen Jackson, Secretary of Technology
Tonya Vincent, Deputy Secretary of Public Safety and Homeland Security
Sen. John Watkins, Co-Chair, Secure Commonwealth Panel
John Bell, Deputy Chief of Police, Virginia Beach Police Department, Co-Chair, Secure Commonwealth Panel
Wendell Fuller, President, 100 Black Men of Greater Richmond
Fran Ecker, Director, Department of Criminal Justice Services
Banci Tewolde, Associate Director, Department of Planning and Budget
Kevin Carroll, President, Fraternal Order of Police
Douglas Middleton, Chief of Police, Henrico County Police Department
David Johnson, Executive Director, Indigent Defense Commission
Hassan Aden, Director of Research and Programs, International Association of Chiefs of Police
Arthur Townsend, Sheriff, Lunenburg County
Carmen Taylor, President, Virginia Chapter, NAACP
Michael Goldsmith, Chief of Police, Norfolk Police Department
Linda Bryant, Deputy Attorney General, Office of the Attorney General
Lt. Col. Barry Barnard, Police Executive Research Forum
Alfred Durham, Chief of Police, Richmond Police Department
Henry Chambers, Professor, University of Richmond School of Law
Aryn Frazier, Incoming President, University of Virginia Black Student Alliance
Hudaidah Bhimdi Ahmed, Secretary, Virginia Asian Advisory Board
Dana Schrad, Executive Director, Virginia Association of Chiefs of Police
Nancy Parr, President, Virginia Association of Commonwealth’s Attorneys
Bill Robertson, Virginia Association of Counties
Lynda O’Connell, Executive Director, Virginia Center for Policing Innovation
Vivian Sanchez-Jones, Member, Virginia Latino Advisory Board
Kimball Payne, City Manager, City of Lynchburg, Virginia Municipal League
Jay Speer, Executive Director, Virginia Poverty Law Center
John Jones, Executive Director, Virginia Sheriffs’ Association
Col. Steven Flaherty, Superintendent, Virginia State Police
D.J. Smith, President, Virginia State Police Association