This news release is from the previous Governor's administration.
For Immediate Release: September 29, 2017
Contacts: Office of the Governor: Brian Coy, 804-225-4260, | Virginia Department of Emergency Management, Jeff Caldwell, (804) 897-9730,

Virginia Receives $2.7 Million in Federal Funds for Emergency Management

~139 localities will receive funding~


RICHMOND – Governor Terry McAuliffe today announced $2.7 million in new federal Local Emergency Management Performance Grants (LEMPG) to help localities plan and respond to emergencies in their areas. The Virginia Department of Emergency Management (VDEM) will administer funds, which are from the fiscal year 2017 Emergency Management Performance Grant program. Virginia receives these funds each year from the U.S. Department of Homeland Security.

“These important grants enable emergency planning and first responder agencies to acquire the necessary tools, equipment, and other resources they need to prepare for natural and man-made threats,” said Governor McAuliffe. “From severe weather to terrorism, responders must be ready for every kind of scenario that could threaten the safety of their fellow Virginians. Grants like the LEMPG allow the Commonwealth to continue to collaborate with local and federal emergency management agencies and organizations providing them with the skills and equipment they need to ensure safety for our communities.”

“Virginia has no shortage of needs for additional projects to advance our preparedness and resilience concerning the myriad of threats facing the Commonwealth,” said Secretary of Public Safety and Homeland Security Brian Moran. “Working together at the local, state and federal level to identify all possible resources to advance these projects has been a hallmark of the McAuliffe administration, and we are glad to be able to provide this funding to meet locality needs.”

“This federal emergency management grant program is an additional tool to help localities better prepare our citizens and make Virginia communities more resilient,” said Dr. Jeffrey Stern, Virginia’s state coordinator of emergency management. “We will continue to explore innovative ways to invest in the Commonwealth’s ability to prepare for, respond to and recover from an emergency or disaster.”  

For additional resources and information about available grant funding programs, visit

The grants have been awarded as follows: 







Accomack County


Fluvanna County


Norton City


Albemarle County


Franklin City


Nottoway County


Alexandria City


Franklin County


Orange County


Alleghany County


Frederick County


Page County


Amelia County


Fredericksburg City


Patrick County


Amherst County


Galax City


Petersburg City


Appomattox County


Giles County


Pittsylvania County


Arlington County


Gloucester County


Poquoson City


Augusta County


Goochland County


Portsmouth City


Bath County


Grayson County


Powhatan County


Bedford City


Greene County


Prince Edward County


Bedford County


Greensville County


Prince George County


Bland County


Halifax County


Prince William County


Botetourt County


Hampton City


Pulaski County


Bristol City


Hanover County


Radford City


Brunswick County


Harrisonburg City


Rappahannock County


Buchanan County


Henrico County


Richmond City


Buckingham County


Henry County


Richmond County


Buena Vista City


Highland County


Roanoke City


Campbell County


Hopewell City


Roanoke County


Caroline County


Isle of Wight County


Rockbridge County


Carroll County


James City County


Rockingham County


Charles City County


King and Queen County


Russell County


Charlotte County


King George County


Salem City


Charlottesville City


King William County


Scott County


Chesapeake City


Lancaster County


Shenandoah County


Chesterfield County


Lee County


Smyth County


Chincoteague Town


Lexington City


South Boston town


Christiansburg town


Loudoun County


Southampton County


Clarke County


Louisa County


Spotsylvania County


Colonial Heights City


Lunenburg County


Stafford County


Covington City


Lynchburg City


Staunton City


Craig County


Madison County


Suffolk City


Culpeper County


Manassas City


Surry County


Cumberland County


Manassas Park City


Sussex County


Danville City


Martinsville City


Tazewell County


Dickenson County


Mathews County


Vinton Town


Dinwiddie County


Mecklenburg County


Virginia Beach City


Emporia City


Middlesex County


Warren County


Essex County


Montgomery County


Washington County


Fairfax City


Nelson County


Waynesboro City


Fairfax County


New Kent County


Westmoreland County


Falls Church City


Newport News City


Williamsburg City


Farmville Town


Norfolk City


Winchester City


Fauquier County


Northampton County


Wise County


Floyd County


Northumberland County


Wythe County






York County